ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — It is on this day, January 6, 2019, that we shall be celebrating the 107th anniversary of the declaration of New Mexico as the 47th state of the Union. The state of New Mexico was admitted into the Union by Congress on January 6, 1912 under the United States presidency of William Howard Taft (1909–1913).